Aussie Artists Named Winners in 2018 Unsigned Only Music Competition

Sahara Beck – First Place in the AC (Adult Contemporary) category

The Unsigned Only Music Competition has announced its 2018 winners on Tuesday 21 August, including a total of 20 Australian winners honored in this year’s competition. Unsigned Only is open to all artists who are unsigned to a major record label, and over the years it has become an important source for discovering new talent. Winners were selected from over 6,000 entries submitted from 95 countries. Since Unsigned Only’s inception in 2012, four Grand Prize winners have been signed to major label record deals.

A total of 20 Australian winners are honored, including Sahara Beck who takes home First Place in the AC (Adult Contemporary) category for the song “Here We Go Again” and Mayah for garnering Second Place in the R&B/Hip-Hop category for the song “XO Girl.” Additionally, 18 Aussie artists are awarded an Honorable Mention in their respective categories.

“Australia always produces great independent artists, and this year was no exception,” said UO founders, Candace Avery and Jim Morgan. “We are always on the lookout for artists who create music that is creative, memorable, and enduring. We are proud to honor so many Aussie artists whose music embodies these traits.”

Winners were selected by a prestigious panel of judges comprised of celebrity artists and industry excutives, including: Aimee Mann, Grouplove, O.A.R., Frank Foster, David Crowder, Aaron Shust, Jack Ingram, Lydia Loveless, and many more. Additionally, one artist is selected by a public vote as the Fandemonium winner.

The 2018 Grand Prize is awarded to Canadian country artist Eric Ethridge for the song “Girl On Fire.” The past few years have seen Ethridge’s career gaining momentum: he was mentioned in Rolling Stone, won the CCMA Discovery Program, charted on the Canadian Country charts, and most recently he debuted on SiriusXM’s The Highway. His much-anticipated debut EP was released in July of 2018 and peaked at #1 on the iTunes Country chart and #3 on the all-genres chart. A doctor-turned-country-artist, Ethridge has a strong connection with his fans and listeners, evidenced by his songs being streamed over three million times in the short time since the EP was released.

In addition to winning $20,000 in cash (US) and $20,000 (US) in merchandise and services, Ethridge also receives one-on-one mentoring from a group of upper-echelon music industry executives.

Unsigned Only is now accepting entries. This year, Unsigned Only has added five new categories for artists to enter. The complete list of categories includes: AAA (Adult Album Alternative); AC (Adult Contemporary); Americana; Blues; Christian; Country; EDM; Folk/Singer-Songwriter; Instrumental; Jazz; Latin Music; Pop/Top 40; R&B/Hip-Hop; Rock; Screen Shot (songs suitable for placement in film, tv, etc.); Teen (for artists 18 years old and younger); Vocal Performance; and World Music.

For more information, go to:

To hear the winning songs and view the complete list of winners, go to:

In addition to the Grand Prize winner, many other Australian artists share the spotlight for winning their respective categories.


First Place Sahara Beck (Fortitude Valley, QLD, Australia) – “Here We Go Again” – AC (Adult Contemporary)

Second Place Mayah (Cairns, QLD, Australia) – “XO Girl” – R&B/Hip-Hop

Honorable Mention
Carus Thompson (Fremantle, WA, Australia) – “Beach Fires” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
Collegians (Melbourne, VIC, Australia) – “Vaccine” – Rock
Crawford Brothers (Hinton, NSW, Australia) – “You And I” – Pop/Top 40
Danielle Deckard (Sydney, NSW, Australia) – “Happy” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
Georgi Kay (Perth, WA, Australia – “Guilty Pleasures” – AC (Adult Contemporary)
Hox Loci (Sydney, NSW, Australia) – “Wolves” – Rock
Little Quirks (Gosford, NSW, Australia) – “Crumbled” – Americana
Lostsong Project (Cobram, VIC, Australia) – “Carry Me” – Christian
MAXO (Canberra, ACT, Australia ) – “Never Ever” – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)
MAXO (Canberra, ACT, Australia ) – “Never Ever” – Folk/Singer-Songwriter
MAXO (Canberra, ACT, Australia ) – “Never Ever” – Screen Shot
Mitch King (Gold Coast, QLD, Australia) – “Believe” – Screen Shot
Nick de la Hoyde (Sydney, NSW, Australia) – “Mirror Mirror” – Pop/Top 40
Ralway Bell (Perth, WA, Australia ) – “Caught In The Crossfire” – Americana
Rory AdamsvAdelaide, SA, Australia) – “All I Ever Do” – Teen
Sahara Beck (Fortitude Valley, QLD, Australia) – “Here We Go Again” – Vocal Performance
This Way North (Melbourne, VIC, Australia) – “Head Above Water” – AAA (Adult Album Alternative)
Zjal (Adelaide, SA, Australia) – “I Got U” – R&B/Hip-Hop

Please follow and like us: